Wiki Breast reconstruction/implant removal

KBean2018

Guru
Best answers
Hello, I am new to plastic breast procedures. How would you code the below? I know 19357-LT so far

Pre-op Diagnosis:
History of left breast cancer [Z85.3]
Acquired absence of breast and absent nipple, left [Z90.12]
Breast asymmetry between native breast and reconstructed breast [N65.1]
Post-op Diagnosis:
same
Procedure:
BREAST RECONSTRUCTION UNILATERAL
BREAST IMPLANT AND CAPSULE REMOVAL
MAMMOPLASTY AUGMENTATION

presents for delayed left breast reconstruction after mastectomy. She also presents for right breast implant removal and replacement.
Procedure:
Attention was first turned to the right breast. Incision was made through her prior augmentation scar. I dissected down through her breast tissue until identified a subglandular breast implant capsule. I circumferentially dissected around the capsule using electrocautery and a lighted breast retractor. I was able to completely dissect around the capsule and remove the capsule and the implant en bloc from the patient. On the back table I opened the capsule to identify ruptured silicone implants. The capsule was thickened and calcified in multiple places. The capsule was contracted and had taken on a football like elliptical shape. I then used a saline sizer measuring 380 to 450 cc in the subglandular pocket. I tried a variety of fill volumes from 400-450 to fill the pocket. Patient did remain ptotic but had an improvement in her overall breast appearance. I then removed the sizer irrigated the pocket with an antibiotic irrigation. Hemostasis was achieved using electrocautery. A 15 French round JP drain was placed in the pocket. I changed my gloves and placed a smooth round high profile saline implant 380 to 450 mL. It was filled with 450 mL's of sterile saline. The capsule was then closed with 3-0 interrupted Vicryl suture. The skin was closed with interrupted 3-0 Vicryl dermal sutures and running 4 oh strata fix Monocryl.