Wiki CPT help 27610 & 27614

sugarjoe

Contributor
Best answers
I am new to orthopedic coding and nervous with all the surgery coding.

My doc tells me he did this for a suspected deep infection after an ORIF of ankle fx 2 days prior:

Procedure: Irrigation and debridement with cultures x2, biopsies x2 and implantation of Stimulan antibiotic beads containing Vancomycin & Gentamicin.

Description: short version: Discolored tissue near medial malleolus, just superior & posterior to the fx, debrided & removed with a 15 blade knife. Cultures obtained as well. A piece of bone from medial malleolar region at fx site and another piece of bone at fx site at the fibula were sent to biopsy. The Stimulan beads were then placed.

He wants to bill 27610 & 27614. MR CCI edits state 27614 is a column 2 code for 27610. Would 27620 be more appropriate to include the biopsies he performed?

Any help with this is appreciated !!

In order to code this accurately, you would really need to post the redacted op note and pathology results. Code 27603 may fit, but really unknown. Smaller procedures are included with larger procedures when performed in the same area which is why 27614 hits an edit with 27610. If your already there, is it that much extra work to get a biopsy sample? Not at all. Code 27614 exists in case that is all that was done in that area but it would never be reported when a restorative procedure is being performed in the same area. Keep in mind that doctors understand that there is a procedure code for every procedure that they can perform, and after surgery they just list them all thinking that all can be billed. That's where coders come in. It's your job to make sure that all codes submitted are supported and correct per NCCI and insurance guidelines.

I agree with Orthocoderpgu, we would need to see the documentation in order to be sure as to which codes to advise that you bill. I would be happy to take a look at your dictation.