Wiki Dbx bone graft

hbair99

Networker
Best answers
When a cpt code, for example 21147 lefort 1, 3pc, states with bone graft, does dbx or dbm (demineralized bone matrix) constitute with bone graft. I bill for the professional/surgeon in this scenerio. I think that the dbx/dbm is a product that the facility will bill for (hcpcs) but does not constitute application/harvesting of bone graft. I have looked for information regarding this and haven't found anything concrete. Any thoughts, thanks!!!!

I'm not an expert when it comes to the Lefort procedures however after reviewing the CPT lay description for 21147 it states that "cranial or iliac bone grafts are placed and the donor site repaired". I'm thinking that if your provider is only using demineralized bone matrix then this would not be billable as a bone graft as stated in the description. Again, I'm not an expert so hopefully someone else will chime in and give another opinion.