Go Back   AAPC Medical Coding & Billing Forums > Medical Coding > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-20-2008, 05:48 PM
True Blue

rthames052006 will become famous soon enough
Default QW modifier

Hello all,

I am at a new employer now and I am unsure as to why they are using the QW modifier for Medicare claims when they bill a cpt code in the 80000 series, where I used to work we billed for those codes and we never had to use this QW modifier, when I asked why we are using it and what it means because I have never heard of it. I am being told because they were told to, no one knows why but they just do.

I just want to get some clarification on this, since I have no prior experience with it.

I think I will also check my local medicare carrier website to see if I can get a clue.

TIA

Past President 2011, 2012 York, PA Chapter
Past President Elect 2010 York, Pa Chapter
Roxanne.Thames@aapcca.org
Old 05-20-2008, 06:01 PM
True Blue

Ok, so I checked Medicare's website and I now know that QW= clia waived test, but I am still unclear, I don't mean to sound stupid but the office I came from this wasn't an issue, and at this point no one can tell me why we have to use it... I'm just looking to get some clarification....

Any help will be appreciated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rthames052006 View Post
Hello all,

I am at a new employer now and I am unsure as to why they are using the QW modifier for Medicare claims when they bill a cpt code in the 80000 series, where I used to work we billed for those codes and we never had to use this QW modifier, when I asked why we are using it and what it means because I have never heard of it. I am being told because they were told to, no one knows why but they just do.

I just want to get some clarification on this, since I have no prior experience with it.

I think I will also check my local medicare carrier website to see if I can get a clue.

TIA