Go Back   AAPC Medical Coding & Billing Forums > Medical Coding > Medicare Regulations
Forum Rules FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-17-2012, 03:41 PM
New

Lynelle is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Tdap and Administration

Help! I'm new to coding. Medicare is denying my patients the Tdap and administration fees. Which means $85 has to come out of my patient's pocket. What am I doing wrong here? Is there a correct way to code these so that they will pay? I've been coding 90471 immunization admin and 90715 for Tdap.

I also have a question regarding a patient the doctor saw as a home visit. Medicare has denied that visit. How should I code for that?

Thanks!
Old 07-17-2012, 04:32 PM
Guru

britbrit852003 is on a distinguished road

Medicare does not pay for this vaccine unless is was given for an injury. They consider it a self injectable (patient can get it at a pharmacy and do it themselves).
Old 07-27-2012, 07:28 AM
True Blue

RebeccaWoodward* will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynelle View Post
Help! I'm new to coding. Medicare is denying my patients the Tdap and administration fees. Which means $85 has to come out of my patient's pocket. What am I doing wrong here? Is there a correct way to code these so that they will pay? I've been coding 90471 immunization admin and 90715 for Tdap.

I also have a question regarding a patient the doctor saw as a home visit. Medicare has denied that visit. How should I code for that?

Thanks!

90715 is not payable. 90718 is payable if there is documentation of an open would.

Jurisdiction 1 Part B

Are tetanus vaccines covered when treating a patient for an injury?

Answer: