20150831 Expand

AAPC Code of Ethics

Commitment to ethical professional conduct is expected of every AAPC member.  The specification of a Code of Ethics enables AAPC to clarify to current and future members, and to those served by members, the nature of the ethical responsibilities held in common by its members.  This document establishes principles that define the ethical behavior of AAPC members.  All AAPC members are required to adhere to the Code of Ethics and the Code of Ethics will serve as the basis for processing ethical complaints initiated against AAPC members.

AAPC members shall:

  • Maintain and enhance the dignity, status, integrity, competence, and standards of our profession.
  • Respect the privacy of others and honor confidentiality
  • Strive to achieve the highest quality, effectiveness and dignity in both the process and products of professional work.
  • Advance the profession through continued professional development and education by acquiring and maintaining professional competence.
  • Know and respect existing federal, state and local laws, regulations, certifications and licensing requirements applicable to professional work.
  • Use only legal and ethical principles that reflect the profession’s core values and report activity that is perceived to violate this Code of Ethics to the AAPC Ethics Committee.
  • Accurately represent the credential(s) earned and the status of AAPC membership.
  • Avoid actions and circumstances that may appear to compromise good business judgment or create a conflict between personal and professional interests.

Adherence to these standards assures public confidence in the integrity and service of medical coding, auditing, compliance and practice management professionals who are AAPC members.

Failure to adhere to these standards, as determined by AAPC's Ethics Committee, may result in the loss of credentials and membership with AAPC.

Contact us for complaints or inquiries regarding violations of our Code of Ethics .

Ethics Committee Members

Michael Miscoe, JD, CPC, CASCC, CUC, CCPC, CPCO Chair
Linda Martien, CPC AAPCCA
Yvonne Dailey, CPC, CPC-I National Advisory Board
Chandra Stephenson, CPC, COC, CPMA, CPC-I, CANPC, CEMC, CFPC,
National Advisory Board
Tim Blanchard, JD, MHA, FHFMA Legal Advisory Board
Christopher Parella, JD, CHC, CPC Legal Advisory Board
Julie Chicoine, JD, RN, CPC Legal Advisory Board