New Specialty Code for Imaging Accreditation

  • By
  • In CMS
  • April 15, 2011
  • Comments Off on New Specialty Code for Imaging Accreditation

Effective July 1, providers and suppliers appending the technical component (TC) to advanced diagnostic imaging procedures will have a new specialty code to report on claims. Change Request 7175, issued April 12 by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), establishes specialty code 95 Advanced Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation.
Providers and suppliers who supply the TC of advanced diagnostic imaging services for Medicare patients must be accredited by Jan. 1, 2012 to be reimbursed by Medicare. This requirement does not apply to the physicians who only interpret the images.
See MLN Matters article MM7177 Revised for more information regarding accreditation requirements.


Latest posts by admin aapc (see all)

No Responses to “New Specialty Code for Imaging Accreditation”

  1. cheryl says:

    If the physician is billing globally is this new specialty code required?

  2. Valerie says:

    Yes, because the global code includes the technical component. Make sure that you have completed the accreditation process and updated your Medicare application (revised apps to be released in July) to continue to get paid for these services in 2012. See the MLN Matters.