Stage 2 Meaningful Use Finalized

  • By
  • In Billing
  • August 23, 2012
  • Comments Off on Stage 2 Meaningful Use Finalized

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT released final requirements for stage 2 that hospitals and health care providers must meet to qualify for incentives during the second stage of the program, and criteria that electronic health records must meet to achieve certification.
The final rule:

  • Makes clear that stage two of the program will begin as early as 2014. No providers will be required to follow the Stage 2 requirements outlined today before 2014.
  • Outlines the certification criteria for the certification of EHR technology, so eligible professionals and hospitals may be assured that the systems they use will work, help them meaningfully use health information technology, and qualify for incentive payments.
  • Modifies the certification program to cut red tape and make the certification process more efficient.
  • Allows current “2011 Edition Certified EHR Technology” to be used until 2014.

The CMS final rule also provides a flexible reporting period for 2014 to give providers sufficient time to adopt or upgrade to the latest EHR technology certified for 2014.
A fact sheet on CMS’ final rule is available at
A detailed fact sheet on ONC’s standards and certification criteria final rule is available at
The final rules announced today may be viewed at More information on the Stage 2 rule can be found at the CMS EHR Incentive Programs website at

Latest posts by admin aapc (see all)

Comments are closed.