AAPC Launches ICD-10 Documentation Training

Specialty-specific training prepares physicians for more rigorous ICD-10 requirements

AAPC, the leader in advancing the business of healthcare, has launched an ICD-10 training for physicians in the final year before implementation. The 3-hour online curriculum teaches ICD-10-CM documentation requirements by medical specialty and from a provider’s perspective.

AAPC’s recent study of more than 20,000 audits of physicians’ clinical documentation showed that only 63% of current documentation is sufficient to support the more rigorous ICD-10 requirements. The study goes on to note that if the facility is otherwise fully prepared for ICD-10, but clinical documentation is not improved, then accurate coding and proper payment will not be possible.

“One of the largest problems to follow ICD-10 implementation will be insufficient documentation,” said Rhonda Buckholtz, AAPC VP of ICD-10 Education and Training. “Providers need to know what to do differently to avoid productivity loss, claim denials, compliance missteps, and lost revenue. ICD-10 documentation training is an absolute necessity for a smooth transition next year.”

Physician training is available in the following specialties:


  • Anesthesia
  • Cardiology
  • Dermatology
  • Emergency Department
  • Family Practice
  • Gastroenterology
  • General Surgery
  • Internal Medicine
  • Mental and Behavioral
  • Multi-Specialty
  • Neurology
  • OB/GYN
  • Oncology/Hematology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopaedics
  • Otolaryngology (ENT)
  • Pathology
  • Pediatrics
  • Pulmonology
  • Radiology
  • Urology

ICD-10 Documentation Training for Physicians is approved for continuing medical education (CME) credit, and a demo can be viewed online.

About Has 54 Posts

David Blackmer has been working in healthcare business operations and marketing since early 2008. He has authored and contributed to dozens of industry articles, and he is a regular speaker at various healthcare conferences and other events across the country. He earned his Master of Strategic Communication degree from Westminster College in Salt Lake City, UT.

One Response to “AAPC Launches ICD-10 Documentation Training”

  1. Valerie Malone says:

    We have 3 providers in an GYN practice that needs ICD-10 documentation training.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sponsored Ads