Minnesota Expands APRNs' Roles

Minnesota is giving mid-level providers’ advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) the authority to practice independently beginning January 1, 2015. That makes Minnesota the ninth state to grant full practice and prescribing autonomy to all four categories of advanced practice nurses: nurse-midwives, nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, and registered nurse anesthetists.
New advanced practice nurse graduates will be required to work at least 2,080 hours in a hospital or collaborative clinic setting before they qualify for full practice autonomy. Minnesota Public Radio said the new law will make it easier for Minnesota’s 6,374 APRNs to work in areas where there is a shortage of physicians.

Brad Ericson
Latest posts by Brad Ericson (see all)

About Has 336 Posts

Brad Ericson, MPC, CPC, COSC, is a seasoned healthcare writer and editor. He directed publishing at AAPC for nearly 12 years and worked at Ingenix for 13 years and Aetna Health Plans prior to that. He has been writing and publishing about healthcare since 1979. He received his Bachelor's in Journalism from Idaho State University and his Master's of Professional Communication degree from Westminster College of Salt Lake City.

Comments are closed.