HIT Panel Formed, First Meetings Held

David Blumenthal, MD, Health and Human Services (HHS) national coordinator for health information technology (HIT), announced, May 8, the membership of the HIT Policy Committee established under the stimulus bill. The committee held its first meeting May 11 to begin planning a national HIT strategy.

The HIT Policy Committee will make recommendations to Blumenthal on a policy framework for the development and adoption of a nationwide interoperable health information infrastructure, including standards for the secure and private exchange of patient medical information.

Blumenthal said in a conference call that the committee is “totally focused” on President Obama’s initiative to establish HIT, but emphasized the goal is to improve patient care, not to advance HIT.

“The Policy and Standards Committees bring together a wide diversity of key stakeholders to help guide the advancement of health IT as an integral part of health reform,” stated Blumenthal, chairman of the Policy Committee. “It is an honor to lead one of these committees, and I am confident that these committees will provide valuable insight to help develop important health IT policy in the next few years.”

Members appointed by HHS to the Policy Committee are:

David Blumenthal, MD, MPP, Chair
HHS, National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

Christine Bechtel
National Partnership for Women & Families

Neil Calman
The Institute for Family Health

Richard Chapman
Kindred Healthcare

Adam Clark
Lance Armstrong Foundation

Arthur Davidson
Denver Public Health Department

Connie White Delaney
University of Minnesota/School of Nursing

Paul Egerman

Judith Faulkner
Epic Systems Corp.

Gale Harrel
Former Florida State Legislator

Charles Kennedy
WellPoint, Inc.

Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH
Dean, Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health

David Lansky
Pacific Business Group on Health

Deven McGraw
Center for Democracy & Technology

Frank Nemec
Gastroenterology Associates, Inc.

Marc Probst
Intermountain Healthcare

Latanya Sweeney
Carnegie Mellon University

Paul Tang
Palo Alto Medical Foundation

Scott White
1199 SEIU Training and Employment Fund

Appointments were also made to the HIT Standards Committee, a federal advisory body, which is charged with making recommendations to the national coordinator on standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria for the electronic exchange and use of health information. The first meeting of this committee was held May 15.

Members appointed by HHS are:

Jonathan Perlin, MD, Chair
Healthcare Corporation of America

John Halamka, MD, Vice Chair
Harvard Medical School

Dixie Baker, PhD
Science Applications International Corporation

Anne Castro
BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina

Christopher Chute, MD
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine

Janet Corrigan, PhD
National Quality Forum

John Derr, R.Ph.
Golden Living, LLC

Linda Dillman
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.

James Ferguson
Kaiser Permanente

Steven Findlay, MPH
Consumers Union

Douglas Fridsma, MD, PhD
Arizona Sate University

C. Martin Harris, MD, MBA
Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Stanley M. Huff, MD
Intermountain Healthcare

Kevin Hutchinson
Prematics, Inc.

Elizabeth O. Johnson, RN
Tenet Healthcare Corp.

John Klimek, R.Ph.
National Council for Prescription Drug Programs

David McCallie, Jr., MD
Cerner Corporation

Judy Murphy, RN
Aurora Health Care

J. Marc Overhage, MD, PhD
Regenstrief Institute

Gina Perez, MPA
Delaware Health Information Network

Wes Rishel
Gartner, Inc.

Sharon Terry, MA
Genetic Alliance

James Walker, MD
Geisinger Health System

Representatives from relevant federal agencies will be named separately. More information about these committees, meeting dates and preliminary agendas can be found on the Health IT Web site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sponsored Ads