5 Days Left – Save up to 50% + FREE Code Books with Select Training Packages |  Register Now


10 Topics on Everyone’s Mind

10 Topics on Everyone’s Mind

Survey shows Healthcare Business Monthly is your go-to resource.

AAPC recently reached out to members to take a Healthcare Business Monthly survey. One of the questions on the survey was, “What topics would you like to see more of in Healthcare Business Monthly?” We received many responses, along with many great ideas. As a follow-up, we reviewed the past four years of the magazine to see if we had already covered any of the suggestions. As it turned out, we had covered most of the topics that members suggested.

Here are the 10 most popular topics you requested, with links to some of the articles we’ve published on the subject in the past two years.

Tip: An easy way to find an article published in Healthcare Business Monthly is to search the Knowledge Center. We publish most of the articles from the magazine at www.aapc.com/blog.

1. CARDIOLOGY
Understand and Implement New Cardiology Coding Practices2/1/2021https://www.aapc.com/blog/52763-understand-and-implement-new-cardiology-coding-practices
Prep Your Cardiology Practice for E/M Changes in 20216/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50707-prep-your-cardiology-practice-for-e-m-changes-in-2021
Look for Clues When Coding Myocardial Infarction Interventions6/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50769-look-for-clues-when-coding-myocardial-infarction-interventions
Compare Cardiology to a Construction Company6/5/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/47272-compare-cardiology-to-a-construction-company
Look for Clues When Coding Myocardial Infarction Interventions6/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50769-look-for-clues-when-coding-myocardial-infarction-interventions
Congenital Heart Defects: A Lifelong Challenge for Our Tiniest Patients10/31/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/49079-congenital-heart-defects-a-lifelong-challenge-for-our-tiniest-patients
2. DIABETES CODING/GUIDELINES
Coding Diabetes Requires Precision1/1/2021https://www.aapc.com/blog/52511-coding-diabetes-requires-precision
Factor in Uncommon Diabetes Complications for Risk Adjustment11/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/52064-factor-in-uncommon-diabetes-complications-for-risk-adjustment
Explore the Basics of Diabetes Mellitus6/10/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/47282-explore-the-basics-of-diabetes-mellitus
3. SPINE CODING
Bone Up on Lumbar Spinal Fusion (part 2)10/9/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/48881-bone-up-on-lumbar-spinal-fusion-2
Bone Up on Lumbar Spinal Fusion (part 1)9/6/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/48628-bone-up-on-lumbar-spinal-fusion
SPINAL Cord Stimulation Leads: A Coding Perspective7/8/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/47629-spinal-cord-stimulation-leads-a-coding-perspective
4. COMPLIANCE
The Price of Noncompliance1/1/2021https://www.aapc.com/blog/52539-the-price-of-noncompliance
6 Questions Ensure E/M Compliance1/1/2021https://www.aapc.com/blog/52518-6-questions-ensure-e-m-compliance
Make a Difference Working in Compliance12/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/52334-make-a-difference-working-in-compliance
Feds Want to See Compliance Plans in Action9/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/51569-feds-want-to-see-compliance-plans-in-action
Providers and Compliance Personnel: The New Dream Team8/3/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/51229-providers-and-compliance-personnel-the-new-dream-team
Welcome to the Industry: Know Your Role in Compliance7/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/51030-welcome-to-the-industry-know-your-role-in-compliance
Dodge Third-Party Biller Compliance Conundrums6/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50798-dodge-third-party-biller-compliance-conundrums
Should Long-Term Care Facilities Outsource Compliance?3/2/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50285-should-long-term-care-facilities-outsource-compliance
Watch Out for Telecommuter Compliance Risks12/1/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/49285-telecom-muter-compliance-risks
The Scope of Federal Kickback Compliance Expands7/31/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/48053-the-scope-of-federal-kickback-compliance-expands
Put Your Right-sized Compliance Plan into Action7/8/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/47601-put-your-right-sized-compliance-plan-into-action
Implement Compliance Safeguards for Controlled Substance Abusers6/1/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/47275-implement-compliance-safeguards-for-controlled-substance-abusers
Avoid the Top 3 Compliance and Auditing Mistakes5/2/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/46766-avoid-the-top-3-compliance-and-auditing-mistakes
5. AUDITING DOCUMENTATION
Improve Provider Documentation Through TPE Audits2/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/51425-improve-provider-documentation-through-tpe-audits
Approach Health Record Audits With Care2/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/49829-approach-health-record-audits-with-care
6 Steps to Healthcare Claims Audit Success10/29/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/49034-6-steps-to-healthcare-claims-audit-success
Audit to Promote Revenue Integrity3/4/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/45893-audit-to-promote-revenue-integrity
6. PEDIATRICS AND NEONATOLOGY
Focus on Coding 3 Common Pediatric Eye Conditions8/3/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/51291-focus-on-coding-3-common-pediatric-eye-conditions
Coding Newborn Attendance at Delivery and Resuscitation4/2/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50084-coding-newborn-attendance-at-delivery-and-resuscitation
Account for Pediatric Chronic Conditions9/5/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/48624-account-for-pediatric-chronic-conditions
7. OPHTHALMOLOGY
Clear Up Those Cloudy Days9/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/51565-clear-up-those-cloudy-days
Ensure Good Vision Through Life8/3/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/51280-ensure-good-vision-through-life
Keep an Eye on Cataract Cases with Premium IOLs10/31/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/49099-keep-an-eye-on-cataract-cases-with-premium-iols
8.  PAIN MANAGEMENT
Pain Management: What Does Medicare Cover?4/1/2021https://www.aapc.com/blog/65734-pain-management-what-does-medicare-cover
Take a Stab at Pain Management Coding12/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/52370-take-a-stab-at-pain-management-coding
Don’t Dismiss Juvenile Arthritis as Growing Pains7/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50995-dont-dismiss-juvenile-arthritis-as-growing-pains
Ease Central Pain Syndrome Coding in the IRF4/7/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50075-ease-central-pain-syndrome-coding-in-the-irf
Pain Management Drug Testing Is on the Rise, and Under Scrutiny1/1/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/45178-pain-management-drug-testing-is-on-the-rise-and-under-scrutiny
9. RADIOLOGY
2020 Radiology and Imaging CPT® Changes5/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50520-2020-radiology-and-imaging-cpt-changes
Radiology Coding Audit Quick Tips6/10/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/47298-radiology-coding-audit-quick-tips
Rising Radiology Prices Trigger Appropriate Use Criteria/Clinical Decision Support6/1/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/47266-rising-radiology-prices-trigger-appropriate-use-criteria-clinical-decision-support
10. ONCOLOGY
Screen Your Colorectal Cancer Coding3/1/2021https://www.aapc.com/blog/61612-screen-your-colorectal-cancer-coding
Whip Your Pancreatic Cancer Coding Into Shape11/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/52102-whip-your-pancreatic-cancer-coding-into-shape
Confirm Breast Cancer Screening Coding10/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/51851-confirm-breast-cancer-screening-coding
Go Blue for Prostate Cancer Awareness Month9/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/51673-go-blue-for-prostate-cancer-awareness-month
Words Are Important in Oncology Coding5/1/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50514-words-are-important-in-oncology-coding
Biopsy Coding Requires an Eye for Detail3/4/2020https://www.aapc.com/blog/50283-biopsy-coding-requires-an-eye-for-detail
Master Neoplasm Coding to Better Track Cancer Data2/5/2019https://www.aapc.com/blog/45565-master-neoplasm-coding-to-better-track-cancer-data

Quality Data

Thank you to all those who took our survey. It has been immensely helpful to learn what topics are of most interest to you. There were a few topics, such as inpatient coding and coding for federally qualified health centers, where we are admittedly deficient. Expect to see articles on a broader array of topics in future issues of Healthcare Business Monthly.

Renee Dustman
Follow me

About Has 738 Posts

Renee Dustman, BS, AAPC MACRA Proficient, is managing editor - content & editorial at AAPC. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Media Communications - Journalism. Renee has more than 30 years' experience in journalistic reporting, print production, graphic design, and content management. Follow her on Twitter @dustman_aapc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *