Taxonomy Code List Updated

Recent updates have been made to the Health Care Provider Taxonomy Code (HPTC) list, which Parts A and B Medicare administrative contractors (A/B MACs) will use to process electronic claims effective Jan. 1, 2011.

The HPTC set is maintained by the National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) and updated twice a year with changes effective April 1 and Oct. 1. The institutional and professional claim electronic standard implementation guides (X12 837-I and 837-P) each require use of valid codes contained in the HPTC set when there is a need to report provider type or physician, practitioner, or supplier specialty for a claim.

Changes to the code set include three new codes and definition modifications to several existing codes.

New Codes


Modified Codes


For new and modified code descriptions, go to the NUCC website and choose New Codes or Modifications from the Code Sets/Provider Taxonomy drop-down menu.

Source: The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Transmittal 2046, Change Request (CR) 7130, issued Sept. 10

Latest posts by admin aapc (see all)

Read the complete Article

Login as a member or sign up for free to get uninterrupted access to AAPC blog posts and stay updated on industry news through our monthly newsletter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *