Wiki 90801 billing

monalisa

Best answers
I have a situation where 2 different providers in the same group have billed a 90801 for the same pt on the same day. I asked about this and he stated the doctor did a Medical intake and the Psychologist did a Psychosocial intake. This does not sound correct to me but I am new to billing for Psychiatrist and Psychologist in the same group. Any help would be great!

I was thinking maybe the doctor could have done it as a new pt visit? Or am I way off here?

Depending on if the patient has insurance. If No insurance then yes it is ok. If state insurance then only one can be billed the 90801, I'd chose the psychiatrist. Other insurance might be able to allow both but you would have to call that specific insurance. Why was it done on the same day? Was the client seen for an hour with both?

I am not sure but I did just get the denial. They state there is no way you can bill that code 2x on one day. Thanks

Then you need to bill a medical intake for the dr who did it and bill the initial eval for the dr who did that.
It is NOT ok to bill both evals just because a patient has or does not have insurance. You need to bill consistently across the board and you should not bill differently based on whether one has insurance or not.

I was thinking about the New pt e/m visit also and have spoken with the Dr regarding the documentation and he does have the documentation for a 99205. My question now is would it have to be a medical dx and go to the medical side of the insurance and not the carve out for Mental Health. Does the MH side of insurance except a reg E/M level visit from a Phsychiatrist with out a medical dx but a MH dx?
How does it usually work when you have an MD doing the medical aspect and the psychologist doing the Psych side of it. Can you bill a 90801 with two different providers on different days?