Wiki CCS-P vs. CPC

mwarmke

Best answers
I have my 2 years experience and am preparing for the CPC exam. Tho alot of ads for jobs require a CCS or CCS-P. I know that they are two different organizations but should I be thinking in terms of taking the CCS exam as well. What have others done? And is one better than the other for getting the job? mwarmke

CCS-P vs CPC

I took and passed both exams several years ago and also have passed my CCS. The main difference at the time I took them, the CCS-P had a lot of I-9 diagnostic (not procedural) and some CPT 4. The CPC was very strong on CPT with some HCPCS and I-9 diagnostic. As for which credential will take you farther, it pretty much depends on the market you are serving. If whomever is doing the hiring has a hospital based background, they are more likely to be aware of the AHIMA credential and request a CCS-P. If they have a physician billing background, they will be more aware of the AAPC credentials and their value.
Finally, the CCS is purely inpatient coding (I-9 diagnostic and procedural, DRG's etc) It is a longer test and more intense than the CCS-P or CPC. I have not looked at the CPC-H to see how it compares to the CCS.
I hope this gives you a little guidance or enlightenment on your search.

I have my CPC and I am going to sit for the CCS-P in about 2 months. I have the study guide for the CCS-P and the operative notes are a little difficult. Waht do you suggest I do to prepare?

I utlized the Carol Buck study guide and found the exam to be very reflective of the material in her study guide. While I did not utilize the PRG (Professional Review Guide) for the CCS-P, I am utilizing that publication for the CCS. That might be another route for you to pursue.

Hope this helps.

why so many creditials?