Wiki Chemotherapy services

LindaEV

Expert
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
I'm trying to learn billing for Chemo, and other injection/infusion services.

From what I understand, hydration, when administered with the chemo, is not seperately payable. However you can bill it if it is administered seperately, as a subsequent service...for example if the patient becomes dehydrated because of the chemo.

Is this correct?

Does anyone have any resources on this?

This is for an outpatient setting.

Thanks.

I am a hem/onc coder and I code the Chemo and IV drug infusion for our group. Yes, Hydration when administered concurrently (with) chemo or an IV drug can not be seperately billed. Per CPT coding guidelines, Hydration, when administered at the same encounter as chemotherapy or other IV drugs must run 31 minutes or more independently of the IV infusion to be eligible for seperate billing, and would be reported using add on code 96361 (your initial service code would be your chemotherapy administration or other IV drug infusion administration).

Hydration service code 96360 (intravenous infusion, hydration ;intial, 31 min to 1 hour) is an INITIAL service code and Can only be billed if it is just that the initial service, and the hydration is running at least 31 minutes up to one hour, each additional hour would be reported w/ 96361.

The guidelines for reporting these services are in your CPT code book
also you can find information on your local Medicare web site, and CMS Claims processing manual chapter 12

Best Wishes!

chemotherapy

Some chemotherapy infusions require hydration pre and post chemo administration and CPT addresses this. You can code for the pre and post but any hydration given during the course of the administration of the chemo is not codable. Check your carrier and Medicare guidelines.