Wiki child and parent(s) therapy

HavaTwo

Contributor
Best answers
I am new to Behavioral Health coding. I have been trying to research information online. During my searches, I found the following:

http://www.aacap.org/cs/root/member_information/practice_information/cpt_codes_faqs

I am especially interested in this Q/A:

"Q: Which CPT code should I use if I split a single psychotherapy session between seeing a child alone and seeing the parents alone?

A: If the parents were seen for child-related content (i.e., inclusive of information about the child's condition or treatment, and exclusive of marital or other concerns) then the entire visit can be coded as face-to-face psychotherapy with the child."

This is not the way my facility has been coding such visits. They have been coding an individual visit for the child (90804-90808, 90810-90815), then 90846-59. Is anyone else using just one code? If so, would this also apply to 90847 [if the provider sees the child alone and then together with the parent(s)]? I have not been able to locate any supporting documentation to use just one code.

Thank you for any assistance.

Michelle

In an hour long session, sometimes the provider will split the time between the client and the client's parent(s). Sometimes, it's for only 10 minutes.

I dont know what to say now. We always code just the child therapy code, but you have me wondering if maybe we shouldn't be coding both...CCI edits do allow it, so theoretically they should both get paid.

I think most times, the intent of visit is just regular therapy. I think they talk to parents to gather info as apposed to family therapy without child present. In which case I would say just the child tx should be billed