Wiki "Colon scrn" with long term diarrhea and fecal incontenence

jfolz

Networker
Best answers
I am a relatively new coder for an outpatient facility.
YESTERDAY, I had a note returned to me stating that I should have left v76.51 as the primary dx for a patient that presented with multiple digestive symptoms, including long-standing diarrhea and abdominal pain. I was corrected by a more senior (and much more highly educated) coder within the organization and told that because the patient had a previous dx of IBS years back, the diarrhea and abdominal pain should be overlooked as the norm for this patient and that the primary dx in this case should have been v76.51. I initially didn't see the IBS dx in the patients chart...and I suppose that I understand that in this case. (However, everything I can find online and in print is telling me that chronic diarrhea automatically excludes you from using v76.51..?)
TODAY I have the following op note to code and I have no clue now what to do:
Preop dx- need for screening colonoscopy, mild to moderate anal incontenence
post-op dx-same as above plus diverticulosis
procedure- screening colon. w/ mucosal biopsies to rule out microscopic colitis
path- came back benign colononic mucosa with no sig. histopathologic change, neg for acute and chronic colitis
indications- pt has a long history of loose stool, 1 to 3 a day and is now having at least 1 or more accidents or stool per week. (MD never says the word "chronic" only long history)
Procedure-Colonoscopy is performed, including noting during an included digital rectal exam that the patient demonstrated "very minimal extremely lax sphincter muscle tone". "As the scope was being withdrawn, I did cold biopsies from both the right side of the colon in the left side of the colon." There were no growths or abnormalities detected.