Wiki Employment without CPC Certification?

R_Brannen

Best answers
I graduated this year from a MIBC program with a GPA of 3.9. I want to become certified, but in order to sit for my exam, I have to come up with $300. Can anybody give me some tips or resources on how to find a coding/billing job without certification? I am a single mom and went to school to better myself so I can be a better provider for my kids. I am becoming very discouraged...and very soon I have to start paying student loans back. I appreciate any feedback!:(

I would go to your local hospital and apply for anypostion they have open, Unit Manager is an excellent start as it will expose you directly to the medical record and providers, from there it is easy to move into the coding department when an opening occurs. I do not know about your area but our hospitals always have openings in this position, it is where I started many many years ago. It is wise to take any position they have even housekeeping and bad as that may sound. The system is easier to move around in once you are "inside" and the benefits in the hospital setting are usually really good.

I agree with Debra 100%. You may have to start off with a basic somewhat unrelated position within an hospital or health system then work you way up the ladder per se.

There are hundreds of threads on this forums discussing this topic of how to get your foot in the door as well as articles in our Cutting Edge magazine relating to this.

My advice--- working your way up to the top and proving yourself may take time but in the end the ultimate goal is well worth it.

Best of luck to you.