Wiki Finding Work as a Coder once Certified!

gr8gal61

Guru
Best answers
I have had the hardest time finding a true coding position since earning my certification. I am CPC certified and have had a tough time finding an employer to give me the opportunity to show my knowledge. Most of my medical background has been limited to chiropractic, therapy & rehabilitation. 99.9% of employment ads require a minimum of at least a year in their specialty along with RHIT!!! It has been disappointing to say the least but because I LOVE medical coding, I will not give up. It's not like I have NO job but it's not the medical coding job that I truly desire. I'm currently a Business Office Manager in the Rehab industry....again and the pay is very nice along with spectacular benefits but I'm not really coding, per se.
Has others had this problem or is it just my luck? I know AAPC has the xternship thing for apprentice certifications however I do not qualify for xternship. Can anyone give me some insight as to how to get my foot in the door without working for minimum wage?

Give the CPC's a Chance.....to gain exp hire us!!!!

That statement is so true. I work as a payment poster and have a year exp. Just recently applied for a coding job, now I need 2 year exp and to be a CCS or a RHIT. Can someone give the CPC'S a break? I think just passing the CPC exam is enough experience.

Amen Sista....RHIT or RHIA is what is also being required. Two more years of college classes in order to obtain an AAS to achieve placement of testing for RHIT or RHIA!!!!!!!! Pllllllllllleeeeeeeaaaaaaaassssssssseeeeeeeeee give us a break and an opportunity!:confused: