Wiki Laparoscopic Hysterectomy with B/L salpingo-oophorectomy, resection of mass small bowel, tumor reductive surgery

suec

Networker
Best answers
The procedure was a Laparoscopic Hysterectomy with B/L salpingo-oophorectomy, resection of mass small bowel, tumor reductive surgery. I would code with 58575 but they did not perform a omentectomy? Can i still use 58575 with modifier 52? (coding for a facility) Or should we use 58571 & 58662.

residual tumor: 1-2 mm nodules on the peritoneal surface of the anterior abdominal wall and diaphragm. scaring along the colon wither it had been adherent to the mass

Thoughts?

Hi, I am a new coder, still learning but since no body responded, I will dare to post my rational.
1. You can code 58575-52 if all is done except Omentectomy.
2. The report is missing more details on 'resection of mass small bowel". I would assume that a small bowel was not resected in any kind of form, only tumor which qualifies for 'debulking' :)

I don't code facility ever, but from a profee coding perspective, I would code this as 58575 WITHOUT -52. In this scenario, I would consider omentectomy to be a minor part of the overall procedure and do not think it warrants -52.
Here is the rationale I am using based on SGO's 2021 coding Q&A top of page 6:
What code is best to use for an interval ovarian debulking surgery with TAH-BSO extensive pelvic dissection? There was no omentectomy or lymphadenectomy. Is it best to use 58150-22 (increased procedural services) or 58953? If I used 58953, would it be necessary to put a 52 reduced services modifier on it?
If there was described debulking of peritoneal implants, whether or not they turned out to be viable malignancy, use a debulking code- i.e., 58953. In the context of extensive debulking without omentectomy, it is reasonable to not reduce it with a 52. If there was just lysis of adhesions without debulking, then 58150-22 or 58956-52.