Wiki Medicare Annual Exam

melheffley

Networker
Best answers
I have a question reguarding our Traditional Medicare patients and their annual exams. I understand that Medicare will only allow 1 pelvic/breast & pap (G0101 & Q0091) per 2 years unless the patient is considered "high risk". Our physicians feel that it is important to follow up with our patients on a yearly basis, as this is the best way to find cancers early. They perform a pelvic/breast exam as well as a Hemmocult test each year. If our patient does not qualify as "high risk" by Medicare, how should we bill the off year? Would we simply be billing a 99214 (or appropriated e/m level) and G0328? This is how the office previously was billing for these services. I am new to this office as well as the billing/coding for OB/GYN. I just want to make sure we are doing things appropriatly.

Well from the information that we have recieved hopefully this will be a problem of the past. Starting 1/1/11 Medicare has stated that they will cover a preventive exam every year. There is information about this on the CMS Website.

Do you happen to know where I can find the documentation on the new coverage guidelines? I tried searching the Palmetto and CMS site, but came up empty. Thanks!

Does the new coverage guidelines include the pelvic and breast exam (G0101 and Q0091)? I was under the impression that they were only covering an annual wellness exam once a year, not the pap and breast exam.

When we perform the pelvic and breast exam for patients without a high-risk diagnosis, we code it the same way as the covered year (using the G and Q code), but the patient pays out of pocket for the services (after signing an ABN of course). If you are billing an E/M visit, what diagnosis are you using? Billing a sick visit would imply that something is wrong with the patient, but you are still only performing the services as a preventative measure. No?

Senia Rascon, CPC, COBGC