Wiki new coder needs opinion on E/M coding

ggparker14

True Blue
Best answers
I am a new coder and I recently had a case for a dog bite to the hand. The physician checked all organ systems on the ROS and the physical exam. I counted the GE, GU and PSYCH organ systems in my components for the ROS and physical exam, but I had an auditor tell me that these organ systems did not need to be counted because they did not pertain to the dog bite on the hand. Should I be counting any organ systems listed in my calculations for ROS and physicial exam, or only organ systems that pertain to each individual case? Any opinions would be appreciated. Thank you.

I wouldn't say don't count them - it's not like they don't count for something. They just shouldn't influence your overall code selection all that much. I mean, even with 9+ elements of ROS, you STILL have to have enough HPI and PFSH documented to qualify for a EPF, Detailed, or Comprehensive History overall. You can have all the ROS and Exam elements in the world and still not have the requirements to bill even a 99213, if the HPI/PFSH and MDM aren't equivalent.

The MDM is the most important factor in code selection, so it's really going to tip the scale one way or another, depending on the severity of the condition, how much/what kind of diagnostic work is involved, and the risk of the condition and/or its treatment.