Wiki New to ENT. Lots of Questions re: when to bill E/M with a scope

mitchellk

New
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
Hi. I'm new to ENT coding and I have several questions that I hope you can help me with. First when the doctor does a laryngoscopy in the office, how do you count this in the data complexity part of the audit sheet? I'm thinking that he should get a point in the medicine part-- The same line where they get a point for reviewing/ordering an echo/ekg/cardiac cath.

Second -- When is it appropriate to use the code for the operating binocular microscope? For example my doctor wants to know if he uses the microscope to place an ear wick can he charge for both the ear wick and the microscopic exam?

Third -- When charging a new patient office visit for a patient for hoarseness and the doctor does a laryngoscopy -- can he charge both the E/M code and the laryngoscopy? Or only the laryngoscopy? Do I assume since the patient came in for hoarseness that the doctor was already planning on doing the scope and in that case only the scope should be charged and not the E/M? Also the same for nasal endoscopy. How do I know when I can charge both the scope and the E/M vs just the scope?

My last question is regarding a patient who is on blood thinners. He came to the ENT office because of frequent nosebleeds. He was not actively bleeding at the time of the visit. The doctor used an electric cautery to cauterize his nose to prevent further bleeding. Can I charge both an E/M and the cauterization or just the cauterization? Does the doctor need to state in his dictation that he made the decision to cauterize after examining the patient in order to bill both the E/M and the procedure?

I know this is a lot of questions, but being so new at coding I have a lot to learn! :) I would love any advice anyone can give me!
Thanks!!!