Wiki Office Ally - Practice Mate

Best answers
How many of you are currently users of Office Ally - Practice Mate? Is it really FREE unless a paper claim is needed? I'm wondering how you like it and if you can tell me how many physicians you bill for and how many claims you normally submit in a months time. Are you getting paid by all your insurance companies and if not, why? Thanks!

Hi,

First, I have to say that I am not currently using Office Ally, but when I was managing a specialty practice 2 years ago for 2 MD's, I did. I did not use Practice Mate because we already had practice management software. I basically used them as a clearinghouse to submit my claims electronically. The software we had was not a well known one, but I had no problem with it interfacing with them (I'm not a techie type of person, so it had to be simple). I was very satisfied with the process and the company. They had real people you could talk to and they were US based, so there was no problem with us understanding each other. I felt that since they were US based, there was a better chance that they would live up to their Business Associate Agreement per HIPAA regulations.

When I started submitting electronically through them we were paid promptly from the insurance carriers. You know right away if something has failed to go through, so you can fix it quicker and get it sent back out and then you are paid quicker than a paper claim. Also, when it's submitted, you have proof that you sent it AND that it was received by the payor, so the payor can't say they didn't receive the claim.