Wiki Overwhelmed

Sonjagirl

Best answers
What is the average amount of time used to code each scenario?

I don't have any experience, and I'm studying for the certification exam and practicing the extreme coding scenarios in The Extra Step coding manual. These scenarios are so advanced, that they are literally wearing me out! :eek: I thought the ones we had in school were overwhelming, but these are infinite! :confused:

Plus it's taking me longer to figure out! :eek: When I check my answers, I find out that there are more codes involved than what we learned in school. I think to myself: “Is this the way it is in an outpatient setting? No wonder there is a demand for coders.” It makes someone like me feel intimidated to pursue coding, but I don't have any other choice, so I'm going to stick with it, regardless. Has anyone else felt this way?

Take a deep breath ...

Sonja,
You feel overwhelmed, and that's natural. You are new to coding; you are practicing from complicated scenarios; you are worried about being perfect; you are worried about whether you'll pass the CPC exam.

Take a deep breath. Repeat after me ... the answers are on the test.
Yes, that's right. The answers are on the test. The CPC exam does not require that you code the entire scenario from scratch. Rather, you are given a scenario and you are asked a question and given 4 possible choices for the correct answer. So half the work is done for you. The correct answer is always one of the four choices! (Note: each choice may contain multiple codes.)

As for when you get into the real world... No one will expect you to be able to perfectly code complex scenarios from day one. No one will expect you to code 500 visits or 200 procedures per day. You'll start slow and build up speed and accuracy with experience.

As for production goals - much depends on the specialty you are in. There is a big difference between coding family practice office visits vs heart surgery. Don't worry about that today.