Wiki Please help...new to cardiothoracic

crhunt78

Guru
Best answers
I was wondering if anyone out there can lead me to some material or information that will help me better learn cardiothoracic coding. I started my job about a month ago and I have the CABG procedure down but I get so confused when it comes to Aneurysm repairs, Septal Defect repairs and post op complication codes. I was just "thrown" in to start coding this stuff and I have a general surgery background but it is totally different from cardiothoracic surgery. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much!! :confused:

If you can make it to the annual STS Coding Workshop in October, they always provide a ton of information. I always find it helpful. You can check their website for info -
www.sts.org

I've been coding CT surgery for 7 or 8 years now. Feel free to email me with questions as well.

Lisi, CPC
eharkler@nmh.org

need some help too!

I wish someone would throw me into this coding. I am still an apprentice and no one will give me an opportunity to get a start. I would love to do cardiology coding. I stay up on it the best I can. I know it is very challenging. When I read that someone was throw into it. Granted you have experience in general surgery. I'm still trying to get my foot in the door. I recently interviewed for a front desk position at an orthopaedics outpt facility. Just have to keep trying.