Wiki Podiatry E/M?

MarciaH

Best answers
Being in a Podiatrist office we don't have the review of systems that you would have in a family practice office or other specialties but you still need ROS to code office calls. I'm super frustrated over this. How am I to know how to code an office call when we don't have the usual ROS? Someone PLEASE help guide me in the right direction!!
Thanks!

Last edited:
Being in a Podiatrist office we don't have the review of systems that you would have in a family practice office or other specialties but you still need ROS to code office calls. I'm super frustrated over this. I graduated in June, am a CPC-A, and have an office manager who has NO coding/billing education. She only knows what has gotten paid in the past. How am I to know how to code an office call when we don't have the usual ROS? Someone PLEASE help guide me in the right direction!!
Thanks!

Are you saying that their is NO ROS at all in the notes you are reviewing.? As for your office manager you should show her some "official" documentation regarding coding rules/guidelines or even an audit worksheet to educate her in some way-shape or form; hopeuflly she is receptive if you approach her in this way.

I wish you luck.

Patient History Questionaire

I work in pediatrics ... how do you review sytems for a 1 month old? Yet, it's still a requirement.

It would be a good idea to have a patient history questionaire that is completed by the patient at least annually. You might not feel you need all 14 systems, but I can imagine it would important to know if the patient had ever had:
fractures
arthritis
diabetes
tingling in extremities
clubbing
cyanosis
weakness
nail fungus
lesions

You get the idea.

The patient completes the form. The podiatrist reviews and signs/dates the form. Voila ... you have your ROS (also past medical, family and social history).

Hope that helps

F Tessa Bartels, CPC, CEMC