QW modifier- new employer now

rthames052006

True Blue
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
Hello all,

I am at a new employer now and I am unsure as to why they are using the QW modifier for Medicare claims when they bill a cpt code in the 80000 series, where I used to work we billed for those codes and we never had to use this QW modifier, when I asked why we are using it and what it means because I have never heard of it. I am being told because they were told to, no one knows why but they just do.

I just want to get some clarification on this, since I have no prior experience with it.

I think I will also check my local medicare carrier website to see if I can get a clue.

TIA

Ok, so I checked Medicare's website and I now know that QW= clia waived test, but I am still unclear, I don't mean to sound stupid but the office I came from this wasn't an issue, and at this point no one can tell me why we have to use it... I'm just looking to get some clarification....

Any help will be appreciated.

Hello all,

I am at a new employer now and I am unsure as to why they are using the QW modifier for Medicare claims when they bill a cpt code in the 80000 series, where I used to work we billed for those codes and we never had to use this QW modifier, when I asked why we are using it and what it means because I have never heard of it. I am being told because they were told to, no one knows why but they just do.

I just want to get some clarification on this, since I have no prior experience with it.

I think I will also check my local medicare carrier website to see if I can get a clue.

TIA

We put the QW on some of our 80000 codes that we do in house. We have always wondered if they are suppose to go on all as well and have always been told what you are being told. So I went to look it up and go to the following link and I think this may help. Starting on the 5th page it gives you a list of the codes that require the QW.

Jessica Harrell, CPC

Hi,