Wiki Tysabri Infusion for Multiple Sclerosis denied

hcg

Guru
Best answers
I'm new to this billing practice & I need help on a claim that was denied by Aetna.

Patient is being seen in the Doctor's office for Natalizumab (Tysabri) infusion. Pt has Multiple Sclerosis, Optic neuritis, & numbness, parasthesia. Here are the codes on the claim:

Dx codes - 340, 377.30, 782.0

CPT codes - 96413, 96415, A4221, A4222

Aetna denied as: The charge for this service does not meet this requirement of the member's plan of benefits because the chemo administration codes were not billed with nonradionuclide antni-neoplastic drugs, anti-neoplastic agents used for treatment of non-cancer diagnoses, monoclonal anti-body agents & other immunomodulator drugs.

The Dr. said that this is medically necessary. He wanted me to appeal & make sure it gets paid. Our biller told me to use 96365 & 96366. Is it appropriate to use CPT 96365 & 96366 instead? I'm confused.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Just wondering since you didn’t list the actual drug (Natalizumab) amongst your codes, it may be that Aetna does have foundation for their denial. Why is not the actual drug listed?? Does patient get it from the pharmacy? And yes, I am inclined to agree with your biller. Without the drug, you would bill the 96365 and 96366.

We’re having the same issue with Aetna for the Remicade medications provided by the pharmacy for the infusion treatment. Claim gets denied for your same reason because the actual "qualifying" drug was not submitted on the claim form. So what we are doing now to resolve the issue is to still bill for the Remicade with the accurate number of units and assign a $0.0 charge. We're waiting to see if that will work.

Hi Susan,

Yes you were right, patients get their drug from the pharmacy. So Dr. does not include the J code. Thanks for the information.

So, if you put the drug with a $0.00 charge, can we still bill with the same code 96413 & 96415?