Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

ASC billing advice

Default ASC billing advice
    Exam Training Packages
    I am fairly new to ASC facility billing, our facility is looking into providing laporscopic inguinal hernia reapairs 49650. Can we bill for supplies separately or are the supplies in conjuntion with the procedure. Any advice will be helpful. Thanks

The ASC I work uses C1781 for the mesh,if used. This is carrier driven as far as reimbursement.

As bethieh stated above you can bill for the mesh and also I would suggest you review your carrier contracts to see how or if they will reimburse for the extra supplies. If they are not specific I would suggest you have your contracting people go back and negotiate to have it added to the contract. There are many supplies/implants that can be paid separately and are also very expensive and can hurt the ASC. =)

it totally agree with eguerrero...the contracts are all carrier specific but very true that there are many supplies/implants that can be paid separately and are also very expensive and can hurt the ASC if we werent able to code/bill in additon the the procedure codes!

Default ASC Questions ...
    Hi all!
    I, too, am fairly new to the ASC billing process. Actually, I have been in the medical billing business for 30 years - but, never worked with ASC; my present position - I don't really do any billing - but, I play a more administrative role in the ASC .. however, with my insurance industry background - I'm questioning whether the ASC billing is being done correctly. Here are my questions:

1. what type of services are considered to be inclusive of the facility fee? the people who do our billing breakout the fluorscopy and sedation charges .. my insurance head thinks this is wrong ... but, I'm not sure