Non-E.R.docs using the E.R. Codes

Default Non-E.R.docs using the E.R. Codes
    Exam Training Packages
    Can someone help resolve a debate going on in my office?

If a doctor is called to treat a patient of his in the E.R. (not as a consultant...as a regular doctor who is known to the patient)

Can the doctor use the Emergency Room E&M codes?

I've been told by coders at my job that the codes should only be used by the E.R. doctors specifically.
    That instead we should be usining the regular "Est.office/outpatient visit" codes.

However,,,,my teacher (I'm still a student member here) instructed us that the E.R. E&M codes may be used by other doctors....NOT just for the docs' who work the Emergency Room.

What is the verdict here?
    Are the 99281-99285 codes the exclusive domain of the Emergency room doctors?

Thank you!

Default ER
    If the ER doc called the PCP in to look at the pt you may use 9921_. If the pt saw the PCP and not the ER doc, I would use the ER codes.
    Karen Barron, CPC
    Hampton New Hampshire Chapter

Any providers may use the 99281-99285 series. However, only a single provider can report these per DOS.

I hope this helps.

Default CAN use ER codes if ER doc doesn't
    The key would be whether the ER doc is billing any visit on the same date of service.

Our ER docs will write on their document sheet something along the lines of: "Ortho only" (as an example) to indicate that THEY did not see the patient for a billable service, but rather, called in another service to see the child.

This lets the coder know not to code any visit to the ER doc and to allow the ER codes to be used by the physician who actually provided the service.

F Tessa Bartels, CPC, CEMC

your teacher is correct. (as well as kbarron, kevbshields and Tessa too!)
    Donna, CPC, CPC-H

6. Default