pediatric E/M

Default pediatric E/M
    Exam Training Packages
    Okay, I'm new to pediatric coding. We have a physician who codes the pediatric visits with a problem focused visit, but the V20.2 codes. I'm not familiar enough with pediatric coding to determine whether this is accurate, but I'm thinking not. These are well visit codes, and to my thinking should only be used with preventive visits. But, how do you code the check up visits for infants. For instance, I have an example here, some of this is unreadable to me:

1 month check up
    The birth history is documented, the length, wt, head circ, temp, chest, who accompanied (parents), age, date.
    Interval history injuries, illness: none
    medication: none
    Allergies: NKA
    Milestones, nutrition, formula (type, amount, how often)
    Spitting up x0, other problems none
    Sleep (bad)
    Elimination (BM 1-3 daily, void often)
    Vaccination (can't read)
    Concerns none
    examination:
    L-node okay-clear
    chest clear
    CNS S1, S2, )
    Abn
    Genitals
    Testes Low
    Head Neck
    ears
    eye
    tone
    reflexes all okay
    Then health behaviors:
    car seat, family relatonships,
    back to sleep
    second hand smoke
    immunizations
    colic
    follow up one month

This was coded with 99203 V20.2 Would this be correct?

Quote Originally Posted by Anna Weaver View Post
    Okay, I'm new to pediatric coding. We have a physician who codes the pediatric visits with a problem focused visit, but the V20.2 codes. I'm not familiar enough with pediatric coding to determine whether this is accurate, but I'm thinking not. These are well visit codes, and to my thinking should only be used with preventive visits. But, how do you code the check up visits for infants. For instance, I have an example here, some of this is unreadable to me:

1 month check up
    The birth history is documented, the length, wt, head circ, temp, chest, who accompanied (parents), age, date.