Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

CPC for every Practice???

Default CPC for every Practice???
    Medical Coding Books
    I am certified through the National Healthcareer Association. I am a member of the AAPC, and will be taking the exam in June. Can anyone tell me when that law goes into effect that says there has to be a Certified coder in every practice? And, do you have to be certified through the AAPC or can you be certified through the NHA?

Default law
    I haven't heard this, where did you get this information? Would like to read up on this.

3. Default
    I also had not heard this before and would like to research this further.

I graduated in Nov of 08, and one of the Instructers told us that it would soon be required by law that every practice have a certified coder. I'm assuming she knows what she is talking about; mabe not.

I thought that was the case for years already!? It was my understanding that if the facility is a Medicare provider then they must have at least one certified coder in their coding department (if they have one) or where-ever their coding is being done.
    Donna, CPC, CPC-H

I think it's mandatory for facilities - but not physician practices yet.

But I also know that Medicare processors, or contractors, (supposively) require certified coders.

I got an e-mail from one of the Officials at the AAPC and He said it was not a law. I have noticed though, that potential employers want certified coders.
    Thanks for the input.

Default cpc
    As I said, I haven't heard of it being a law, but our facility does require us to be certified within a year of employment. Not by law, but by their own request. I will have our compliance department check on this and see what they can find out. Interesting concept though!!!

Exclamation About law for certification