Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I need E/M expert. PLEASE. ?????

Default I need E/M expert. PLEASE. ?????
    Medical Coding Books
    I'm new to this E/M coding. Starting to get my feet wet, working for this Family Practice in O.C. I'm doing the internal audits for this practice. Looking to gain money for them, versus trying to strike down every code I see with not enough doc.
    With this said my QUESTION.

Say we have a patient with a New problem, of just Pharyngitis or Cough with URI or Bronchitis. And we do a exam of 5 to 7 organ systems. With a prescrition of Antibiotic issued.

What level is this for an establish visit.
    I want to give this a level 4. It seems that the two out of three are met. But I'm told by some, that Pyharyngitis or just a cough with URI is to weak of an diagnosis.

Need some opions out there.

Thank You.

Without seeing the documentation, I could only guess, but I would say that the complexity of the presenting problem would only merit a medical necessity of a level 3.

Default Level 4 vs 3
    For us, the decision making for this type of visit is no question a level 4. Its a new problem and moderate complexity risk due to the rx. According to the AMA coding guidelines in this case with the exam being a level 4 you can code a 99214. I get nervous when its a Medicare patient although they say that the decision making should drive the code. I struggle with this one too just because it appears to be such a straight forward visit. If the patient has any co-morbitities, this will help support the level 4. Generally, we code these a level 3 if there are absolutely no other issues being addressed.

I will be watching this thread closely to see what others are doing.

Wink
    I guess my "opinion" would be based on the actual diagnosis. If it is just Pharyngitis, 99213; but if it is Bronchitis, why not 99214? Bronchitis is a higher risk infection than a simple Pharyngitis.
    Lisa