Inpatient Coding - I am an outpatient coder

Exclamation Inpatient Coding - I am an outpatient coder
    Medical Coding Books
    Hi, I am an outpatient coder w/ CPC credentials. I am interviewing for an inpatient coding position and will need to test accordingly. I would like anyone who might be able to help me w/ the differences in coding inpatient vs outpaitient (physician). Are there any mock tests w/ answers out there? I am in deparate need of a job and would like to do the best I can on the test to get the job. Please help w/ any advice. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!!!

Default Physician coding
    If I understand your post correctly you are applying for a job coding for hospitalists (or some physician who has a lot of patient in hospital).

There really is no difference except the E&M codes you'll use.

Study the E&M section of CPT for Hospital Admission; Hospital Observation; Discharge Management; Inpatient Consultation; Emergency Room; and Critical Care (including Pediatric & NICU if you'll be involved in that).

There may be some procedures you don't usually see in an office - intubation, chest tubes, arterial or central lines. If you run into these, don't forget your -25 modifier on the E/M service.

Also, remember that for Xrays and such you'll be coding ONLY the professional compnent (the hospital will code the technical component).

Take a deep breath. You have experience. You have the CPC. You'll do fine.

F Tessa Bartels, CPC, CEMC
    Last edited by FTessaBartels; 05-07-2009 at 01:57 PM.

The job is actually for inpatient charges for a hospital. I am already freaking out b/c I don't know surgical very well or E/M. For hospital inpatient is it CPT and ICD-9? I am feeling really dumb just about now!

Default HOSPITAL coding
    Hospital coding is definitely different from physician coding. And I cannot help you as I have NO experience with that.