AAPC - Back to school
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Facet and SI Injection w/ Fluoro

Default Facet and SI Injection w/ Fluoro

AAPC: Back to School
    I have an MD who is doing a lumbar facet injection and a Sacroiliac injection both with fluoroscopic guidance. Can we bill separately for the fluoro for the SI injection?
    Missy Heuer CPC, CANPC

Since the flouro is considered a component of the facet joint, I would say no. I have been billing this same scenario without flouro. I have yet to see whether my payers will deny the si joint injection for the absence of the flouro code... I'm hoping not.

wait, why can't you bill fluro. with the SI joint? you should be able to. The fluro is inclusive with 6449x but not with 27096

Orlando, FL

Default Fluoro w/ si injection

I agree, you should be able to bill the fluoro with the SI injection but check with your Carrier. I know ours has language that without the fluoro, the SI isn't considered medically necessary. You might need to put a -59 on the fluoro (again, check with Carrier) so that they don't kick it out thinking you're trying to bill it for the facet.

Athens, Ga.

My carrier prohibits doing any kind of SI or ESI injections at the same encounter as facet injections. I would look at your LCD very carefully.
    Walker Bachman, CPC, CPPM

All valid points. I'm also concerned that my SI joints aren't going to pay because of it. My rationale is that flouro is not a per level or per body region service, and since it is now considered a component of the facet injections you would not be able to bill it seperately. If you did bill all these, facet joints, SI joint and flouro on the same claim I have no doubt that at least one of them would be denied, though it's anyone's guess which code. The best option, in my opinion, is to schedule these two procedures on different days.

I disagree, fluro is per spinal region, see below article from the American Academy of Pain Mgt.