CABG General coding question

Default CABG General coding question
    Medical Coding Books
    I am new to heart coding and am so lost.

The procedures performed were
    1. CABG x 4 (left internal mammary artery to left anterior descending artery and separate saphenous vein grafts to the first diagonal, the second diagonal and posterior descending arteries).
    2. Endocascular harvesting of vein from right leg.

I understand that harvesting of the leg vein is bundled and can't be billed. I don't understand the coding for the CABG. I see that artery is being used for artery for the lad, however, what is confusing me is that veins were used to bypass arteries. I know I'm thinking this to death and it just can't be that hard. Can someone please help me?

I came up with 33533 and 33519, is this correct?
    Last edited by jreavis; 01-11-2011 at 08:16 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by jreavis View Post
    I am new to heart coding and am so lost.

The procedures performed were
    1. CABG x 4 (left internal mammary artery to left anterior descending artery and separate saphenous vein grafts to the first diagonal, the second diagonal and posterior descending arteries).
    2. Endocascular harvesting of vein from right leg.

I understand that harvesting of the leg vein is bundled and can't be billed. I don't understand the coding for the CABG. I see that artery is being used for artery for the lad, however, what is confusing me is that veins were used to bypass arteries. I know I'm thinking this to death and it just can't be that hard. Can someone please help me?

I came up with 33533 and 33519, is this correct?
    Just my opinion on what is listed here... 33533,33519,33508 like I said just my opionion the 33508 is for the endoscopic harvest of the vein, I hope this helps
    CRC CPC

Thanks so much !!

4. Default
    yes, I agree with the codes above. I just wanted to make sure you understand why 33519 was chosen, you sounded a little confused.