AAPC - Back to school
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help finding a home coding job

Default Help finding a home coding job

AAPC: Back to School
    I have been coding from home for the past five years. My desire was to watch my children grow up. So many others seem to want the same thing but have not had the same success I feel I have. I just want to share some pointers with those trying the achieve this goal.

Despite what some may say, home coding jobs do exist and they can pay quite well, but there are some stipulations.

First, you need a coding credential (usually a CPC or CCS).

Second, most companies require 2-3 years of coding experience (usually in a single specialty).

Third, most home coding positions are "independent contractor" positions. That means that you are technically self-employed. While you will have steady work and pay check you will be responsible for your own taxes, health insurance, and vacations will not be paid.

Fourth, you will need to know how to locate a company that hires at home coders.

I have compiled a short list of companies on my website of legitimate companies that hire at home coders. I have worked for three of these companies myself. This is a link to the list (just scroll to the bottom): http://www.medicalbillingandmedicalc...odingjobs.html

Good luck everyone!

Default Remote

I started at home last June with a part time company and in September with a full time and love being home. My kids are grown...but soooo tired of the offfice drama and I have the discipline to work at home. My full time job recently announced an upcoming 3 month downtime. Shock to me but now looking again. I will use the list to get my name out again. Guess it just proves that nothing is a sure deal. Thanks for the info.

Default Website

kristy, just wanted to say that I really enjoyed your website. Lots of great information even for someone with coding and work at home experience. It's great that there is a resource
    with honesty.

St Joseph