Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Frustrated new CPC-A asking for advice

1. Default Frustrated new CPC-A asking for advice
    Exam Training Packages
    I have my AS degree in medical billing and coding, am working on my BA in Health Information Management and passed my CPC test last month. I have applied at over 50 places and have not even a whisper from anyone. I wanted to do project Xtern but the one place within three hours of me no longer does it but it is still listed on the AAPC website. I have sent information to the local hospital I used to work for to ask if they would be interested in Project Xtern, again, not a word. I search job boards, look in local papers and anything else I can think of. I applied through the state for an entry level position at the prison for medical records clerk. I failed their assessment because they ask if you are certified through AHIMA but not through AAPC, though it was the AAPC Job board I found the job listed on. I have gone so far as to appeal the test but nothing has come of it. I am highly frustrated.

I am not asking for a free hand out. I have studied long and hard to only hit a wall. EVERY job I see asks for years of experience. HOW is one to get this coveted experience? I have followed advice read on this board and applied for positions I don't qualify for in the hopes something might happen. Is there a point to all this? I'm moving past frustrated into downright angry that all my efforts have been for naught. Any advice from anyone that I haven't read on these boards yet? Should I toss in the towel and move on to a different field? I sincerely have no idea what to do next and sitting on my bed crying simply isn't an option. I have kids to feed and bills to pay.

2. Default