Modier 25 and diagnostic test on same day

1. Default Modier 25 and diagnostic test on same day
    Exam Training Packages
    I am new at coding for a cardiologist and he does diagnostic testing like EKGs, ECHO, TEEs, Holter monitors and Stress testing daily. Is a modifier 25 required on the E/M code for these tests since they are done on the same day? Some people say yes and others say it is not required.

Guide to use:
    “Modifier 25 is a Significant, Separately Identifiable Evaluation and Management Service by the Same Physician on the Same Day of the Procedure or Other Service.” It may be necessary to indicate that on the day a procedure or service identified by a CPT code was performed, the patient's condition required a significant, separately identifiable E/M service above and beyond the other service provided or beyond the usual preoperative and postoperative care associated with the procedure that was performed. A significant, separately identifiable E/M service is defined or substantiated by documentation that satisfies the relevant criteria for the E/M service to be reported. The E/M service may be prompted by the symptom or condition for which the procedure and/or service was provided. As such, different diagnoses are not required for reporting of the E/M services on the same date. This circumstance may be reported by adding modifier 25 to the appropriate level of E/M service. Note: This modifier is not used to report an E/M service that resulted in a decision to perform surgery. Consider the use of modifier 57. For significant, separately identifiable non-E/M services, consider the use of modifier 59.

In your example given of an EKG in addition to the E/M, I would say you do not need modifier 25 because the test (service) was a necessary part of the exam and MDM...key components of the E/M code. Another example would be an in-office urine dip to test for UTI. This was necessary for the assessment and MDM of the CC, so no modifier is needed.