E and M definitions

1. Default E and M definitions
    Medical Coding Books
    I am a fairly new coder and still learning a great deal with my new employer, and I need some help on E and M codes. I am trying to distinguish between a problem focused physician visit, and a expanded problem focus visit. Can someone provide me with a practical example and explanation on recognizing between these two codes?

Also, can someone please provide me with a definition between what constitues a limited physical examination and an extended physical examination??

Thanks from a rookie coder....

Quote Originally Posted by rex.helmsing View Post
    I am a fairly new coder and still learning a great deal with my new employer, and I need some help on E and M codes. I am trying to distinguish between a problem focused physician visit, and a expanded problem focus visit. Can someone provide me with a practical example and explanation on recognizing between these two codes?

Also, can someone please provide me with a definition between what constitues a limited physical examination and an extended physical examination??

Thanks from a rookie coder....
    Have you had a chance to look at the CMS E/M Documentation guidelines?
    (http://www.cms.gov/MLNEdWebGuide/25_EMDOC.asp)