AAPC - Back to school

Thread: HELP in house lab question TC and 26 modifier

Default HELP in house lab question TC and 26 modifier

AAPC: Back to School
    I am new to lab billing and need to clear up some confusion.. Here are few of the codes that are done in house.

85025 CBC
    80053 CMP
    84443 THS
    80061 Lipid
    86701 HIV

Here is an example of how the physician wants to bill..

85025 26
    85025 TC

This would be done for commercial carriers only. I have been trying to research all morning and can't come up with an answer.

Thanks for any help.

Default Medical Adm

I hope these previous responses may help with your question.

Originally Posted by Lisa Curtis
    I don't do laboratory coding but was shocked that a pathologist charged me for the professional component of lab tests (80053-26, 80061-26, 84439-26, 84443-26, 85025-26). As far as I am aware these codes cannot be reported with modifier -26. The person at the pathologist office told me that they CAN use mod -26 and charge me the professional fee. Someone please tell me - is this truly appropriate?
    Thank you!
    You are correct, this is not appropriate. I checked all the labs you indicated above. Here is the last one that I copied & pasted for your review. The same language appeared on the other labs as well. I bolded your answer below. Good luck.

85025 Complete cbc w/auto diff wbc - PC/TC Not Applicable
    General Information

Code: 85025
    Description: Complete cbc w/auto diff wbc
    PC/TC Indicator: 9: Not Applicable code.Concept of a professional/technical component does not apply.
    Last Updated: 01/01/2009

* #6 * * *
    02-03-2009, 09:10 AM
    Anna Weaver
    True Blue

modifier 26 on labs