I NEED MAJOR HELP!!!!!! Amniotic Band Release?????

1. Exclamation I NEED MAJOR HELP!!!!!! Amniotic Band Release?????
    Medical Coding Books
    I am new to coding othro surgery. I have to find a cpt for pre cert and I am having no luck.Everytime I try to look up something that might be it i realize I have no idea what I am doing. If anyone has any experience with this surgery I would really appreciate a nudge in the right direction. Thanks

2. Default
    Fetal surgery is listed under fetal procedures in the CPT index. It will be an unlisted laparoscopic procedure (59898)

3. Default
    It's not a fetal surgery. It's on an 18 month old child. That is one of the problems I am having. All the info I can find is on fetal surgery.

I may be wrong, but it would seem that you need to address what the doctor is trying to do and on what body part he is doing it. After birth, the Amniotic Band is gone. For instance, ABS can cause club feet, webbed fingers/toes, etc. that may need surgical correction after birth. Does this child actually still have an amniotic fiber around this extremity? If not, I'd go with the body part and type of corrective surgery for that body part. I hope you find what you are looking for.

Quote Originally Posted by vwaner View Post
    I am new to coding othro surgery. I have to find a cpt for pre cert and I am having no luck.Everytime I try to look up something that might be it i realize I have no idea what I am doing. If anyone has any experience with this surgery I would really appreciate a nudge in the right direction. Thanks