Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Has anyone taken the CCS exam?

Default Has anyone taken the CCS exam?
    Medical Coding Books
    Our employer is mandating that we all take and pass the CCS exam. I am CPC certified currently. Has anyone taken the CCS exam lately and can offer any suggestions of comments on the exam?

Default CCS exam
    Quote Originally Posted by lsmft View Post
    Our employer is mandating that we all take and pass the CCS exam. I am CPC certified currently. Has anyone taken the CCS exam lately and can offer any suggestions of comments on the exam?
    I am currently studying for the CCS exam ( as well as the CPMA). You need to buy the study guide from AHIMA. The emphasis is somewhat different to the CPC in that it is mainly about hospital, as opposed to physician coding. You have to understand quite a bit about some billing, DRG's, data sets etc. In addition you have to code some reports (I think 14), mainly inpatient but a few outpatient/ASC's so it is not all multiple choice. A pretty tough test, at least compared to CPC.

I'm currently studying for my CSS as well - it seems to be more in demand.

Lin

Default Ccsp
    Does anyone have any comments on the CCSP?
    Jenifer McPolin CPC, CPMA, RCC

Default Thank you
    Thank you, this what I needed to know. L

Default CCS more in demand
    Quote Originally Posted by losborn View Post
    I'm currently studying for my CSS as well - it seems to be more in demand.

Lin
    Lin I totally agree. The CCS seems to be the gold standard so to speak. I am proud of my CPC and it has served me well for many years but things seem to be changing.

7. Default