Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

ED Speciality Exam

Default ED Speciality Exam
    Medical Coding Books
    Does anyone know if any resources (CPT, ICD) can be used during the test? I have the study guide, but it really wasn't what I was expecting. I know coding is not black and white, but what I was really wanting was actual case studies. Our ED seems to be doing alot more complicated procedures lately and I would have liked being able to compare our notes to experts. Thanks!

2. Default QA Coordinator
    Yes you can use the current edition of ICD - 9 and CPT books, I am surprised that you did not find the study guide helpful. I have taken the test which consist of 3 different sections, you need to pass each section to pass the exam if you miss one section (I did) then you need to retake the complete test again. I was going to buy the book but know I am having my doubts.

3. Default Emergency Room Coding
    Hi I am studying for the ER coding exam as well. I was wanting to know in ER coding do you pick up all of the medications given IM or IV? Can you also pick up EKG? Any information would help. thanks

I took the exam when it first came out. I have had years experience in ER coding and bought the study guide. Despite that it was still difficult. Just study your exam guide and make sure your are confident in what you code. Always think of ways to support your codes.
    Coding Junkie

5. Default
    Please post appropriate repair code: intermediate, complex?

2.5 cm laceration of rt hand, was moderately debrided according to provider and sutured.

Quote Originally Posted by Heather1968 View Post
    Hi I am studying for the ER coding exam as well. I was wanting to know in ER coding do you pick up all of the medications given IM or IV? Can you also pick up EKG? Any information would help. thanks