Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Difference between CCS and CPC certification

Talking Difference between CCS and CPC certification

Promo: Code Books
    Hi,

I am just a rookie coder. I just finished a 5 month coding course which was full time. I had been doing medical billing for 9 years and decided to start preparing for my CCS or CPC exam. I've spoken with people online who are either studying for or have the CCS certification. I get the feeling that they think they have something better with a CCS. Anyone know the difference?

I have books to practice my coding that have the answers to check my work. Case studies seem to be a problem for me. I know there must be books that have the answers to case studies but can't find any online. Can anyone help me with this.

Thanks
    JoAnne:

Default For E/M coding

For E/M coding practice try emuniversity.com There's a subscription service, but there is also a free portion. The "case of the week" allows you to practice E/M coding and once you "vote" on the answer you can get access to the correct answer - including explanation of how they arrived at each key element.

F Tessa Bartels, CPC, CPC-E/M

Hello JoAnne,
    The CPC is certification for physician coding (AAPC)
    The CCS is certification for facility / hospital coding (AHIMA)

I have both the CPC and the CCS. Both exams are appropriately challenging; the CCS does entail more ICD-9 principles and guidelines whereas the CPC is heavily based and focused on CPT coding principles and guidelines.

I value both credentials, however somewhat partial to my CPC. CPT coding rocks!!!

I also find that the AAPC puts more behind maintaining the credential through c.e.u. requirements rather than a single annual assessment for all coders.

A recent article was published on the home page of the AAPC's website explaining the difference between the CPC & CCS.

This white paper has inaccurate information pertaining to the AHIMA coding credentials.

Wink