Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

A Day in the life of a coder/biller...

Question A Day in the life of a coder/biller...
    Medical Coding Books
    I am a student in coding and although I have met with a few coders locally, I would like to know what other coders' daily routine is like. Is there a seasonal or annual cycle to what you do? How much interaction do you have with the public? Or do you spend most of your time in a quiet cubicle?

Do billers have the same routine?

Thanks!

It all depends on your title/position...I worked in a Gastroenterology group for five and a half years as a billing/insurance clerk. I posted insurance payments, worked denials, worked AR reports, collections, coded and audited physicians charts, entered daily charges, transmitted electronic claims to clearinghouse, answered patients questions regarding bills, verified insurance coverage, entered patient demographics, obtained referrals and precertification, and many other tasks.

Today I work for a hospital as a coder/analyst and I don't have any interaction with the public and I do sit in my cube most of the day and just code. It is a change of pace from what I am used to but I am begining to like it.
    Christina Lee Wagner, CPC, CPC-H

Like Christina said it all depends on your title... I work for an Internal Medicine practice and I do it all... post charges, pmts, answer phone calls, submit claims, work denials, internal auditing, physician education. Reconstruct billing cards... the whole nine yards, I don't think I would like to just sit and code all day long I like the interaction also....

Roxanne