Expand

Go Back   AAPC Forum > Medical Coding > ENT/Otolaryngology
Forum Rules FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-11-2010, 07:13 AM
Contributor

karenwelsh is on a distinguished road
Default 31237's done during global period

Is anyone having problems with reimbursements for this when a pt comes to the office after surgery? We aren't getting paid for these and some patient's are requiring 1-2-3 scopes after surgery -- ins co's are saying part of global.

I've heard that if you add modifyer 79, you'll get paid. We've re-filed with this modifyer and it's not helping.

Thanks for any advise from you more experienced coders out there!

Karen
Old 05-12-2010, 10:07 AM
Contributor

irvinme is on a distinguished road

Hi Karen,
Have you received any replies to this post? I am new to ENT and am questioning billing for endoscopies during the global period. Have you always billed for these and are just starting to get denials?
Thanks, Mary
Old 05-12-2010, 03:01 PM
Networker

jthweatt is on a distinguished road

After endoscopic sinus surgery (codes 31254 - 31288) we bill 31237 when appropriate with NO modifier because those codes have no global period. We do not have a problem with payment. Is the 31237 being bundled with another procedure by your insurance carrier?
Old 05-19-2010, 08:34 AM
Contributor

karenwelsh is on a distinguished road

No, nothing is being bundled when billing the 31237 -- only billing this code. We keep getting that this is included in global (?) -- I've just gotten certification and am stumbling thru this process, so I thank you for your response. We'll see what happens next time with no modifyer or any other CPT
Old 08-27-2014, 02:32 PM
New

southerngirl5340 is on a distinguished road
Default billing 31254 & 31237

Hey Everyone,