Expand

Go Back   AAPC Forum > Medical Coding > Anesthesia
Forum Rules FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-09-2010, 12:33 PM
Contributor

mm0105 is on a distinguished road
Cool Trigger point injections

Hello! I'm totally new to Pain Management billing and have a questions about Trigger Point injections. Not sure if this is a rule that needs to be changed with our billing software or if it is infact correct.

I'm billing CPT code 20552 and the patient has Medicare primary and PA Medicaid secondary. The dx code is 719.41. It will not drop to insurance, stating that Medicare does not support that dx code. I checked on Encoder Pro and it shows that it does. Is it truly not covered or should I have the rule checked into with the software company?

Thanks for any input!
Old 06-09-2010, 12:40 PM
True Blue

RebeccaWoodward* will become famous soon enough

Medicare has a LCD on this procedure. According to your LCD, this DX is not covered. You'll need to query the physician if there is another, appropriate diagnosis.

http://www.cms.gov/mcd/viewlcd.asp?l...on=32&show=all
Old 06-09-2010, 12:51 PM
Contributor

mm0105 is on a distinguished road

Thank you!!!

Megan Post, CPC
Old 06-10-2010, 07:04 AM
Networker

thelma is on a distinguished road
Smile Trigger point injections

Talk to your physicians because medicare allows diag;729.1 as only diagnosis for trigger points. Ck medicares lcd centers for all of the pain mangmnt codes. I've been coding pain mangmnt for last 2-years and we use medicare's lcd's almost as bible.
Old 06-11-2010, 01:14 PM
True Blue

dwaldman is on a distinguished road

726.19 might also be on your LCD which refers to shoulder region. Need to give the physician a copy of the LCD from your local Medicare carrier if they do this procedure often so they understand the criteria and diagnoses that they have designated as meeting medical necessity for the procedure.